Cheyenne County Severe Watches & Warnings NOAA Weather Radio

Watches & Warnings

High Wind Warning
Issued: 12:30 PM CST Dec. 12, 2018 – National Weather Service

... High Wind Warning in effect from 10 PM MST /11 PM CST/ this
evening to 2 PM MST /3 PM CST/ Thursday...

The National Weather Service in Goodland has issued a High Wind
Warning, which is in effect from 10 PM MST /11 PM CST/ this
evening to 2 PM MST /3 PM CST/ Thursday. The high wind watch is
no longer in effect.

* Impacts... high profile vehicles will be susceptible to dangerous
cross winds, especially along Interstate 70. Patchy blowing dust
is possible.

* Peak winds... sustained at 30 to 40 mph with gusts up to 60 mph.

* Timing/duration... for far eastern Colorado the threat for 60 mph
wind gusts is most likely this evening through about midnight.
For Wallace, Greeley and Wichita counties the threat of wind
gusts to 60 mph appears to be mainly during the morning through
mid afternoon hours Thursday.

* Other impacts... for the western half of Cheyenne and Kit Carson
counties of Colorado there is a threat of the strong winds to
combine with light snow to produce visibility restrictions in
blowing snow from this evening through about midnight.

Precautionary/preparedness actions...

A High Wind Warning means strong winds are either occurring or
imminent which could lead to property damage... reduced visibility
in blowing dust... and loss of vehicle control. A High Wind
Warning is issued for sustained wind speeds of at least 40 mph or
gusts of 58 mph or more.





Local Radar

Click to Enlarge

Nearby Radar Stations